8. Dec, 2020

Fimm árstíðir/Five Seasons

Five songs by Thorvaldur Gylfason set to poems by Snorri Hjartarson (1906-1986). The poems are Autumn Is Here, Ice Breaks, Spring, and Summer Night, four seasons in all, and also Wolfdales, the fifth season. The book includes English translations of the poems, including Ágústa Flosadóttir´s translation of Wolfdales.

Hallveig Rúnarsdóttir soprano, Elmar Gilbertsson tenor, and Snorri Sigfús Birgisson piano performed a premiere of the cycle in Hannesarholt in Reykjavík 11 March 2017. The composer introduced the songs and recited the poems before the artists performed them. The performance took about 40 minutes and was recorded. The film was broadcast on Icelandic State Television (RÚV) 5 April 2021. An orchestral version of the piano part is under preparation for performance by the singers accompanied by a symphony orchestra.

Cover design and picture:
Jón Kristinn Cortez and Vignir Jóhannsson.